Discussion of commit frequency - Tuesday 16th January 17:00 UTC

Discussion of commit frequency and other points mentioned in this email thread. After meeting discussion, points agreed upon will be documented in the wiki.

Points to be discussed

Dmitry's points of concern:

• As a developer, I should have a liberty to interactively rebase, fixup, squash commits, commit when I can and want, and same for push. If there are restrictions on this from NLnet side, these must be explicitly published on their own guidelines. I'm sure they have different forms than the ones exposed.

• My point is, as I work on it as an individual in my free time, I should have flexibility to a certain degree to develop it when and how I want. And I commit the code when it's at least somewhat "ready" and "stable" and "beautiful" according to my personal standards. I extensively use interactive rebase to make the history readable. When I find that some branch commit introduced an error, I go back there and edit it interactively, then force push. This makes the linear history work when the master is rebased, decreases the chance of the later bisect and simply avoids the trash like "oh look I fixed a typo" for the code which just got rebased into the master (unless required).

• Obviously this works better in branches or in master if you have force push rights (and likely develop alone); but it has its own benefits. Obviously it isn't a silver bullet, but it makes the history way better, and that's the approach I always follow. And now, despite that nobody had problems with this before, now we have this discussion. This is not the first time we have some rules established for which we lack the explicit requirements. The lack of these is fine as long as there's a technical rationale. I doubt any real SW project has a "commit whatever you have" policy. Real SW projects follow "commit respectively and wisely" policies instead.